News: TinyPortal Release Schedule. Please read this update for More Info.

Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

August 25, 2019, 04:05:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
  • Total Members: 3751
  • Latest: tom888
Stats
  • Total Posts: 188704
  • Total Topics: 20746
  • Online Today: 95
  • Online Ever: 629
  • (November 08, 2018, 01:36:54 PM)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 65
Total: 66

Author Topic: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)  (Read 7634 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hashend94

  • Lord of Potatoes
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Otaku life is hard.
    • Supreme Cream Scans
Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« on: July 01, 2013, 03:10:04 AM »
Link to my forum: http://supremecreamscans.com/
SMF version: SMF 2.0.4
TP version: TP Not yet installed
Default Forum Language: English
Theme name and version: Adk Saiyan
Browser Name and Version: Chrome
Mods installed: Mods listed here
Related Error messages:

So I was wondering if it was possible to put a number of blocks insider one main block. Kind of like a multiblock thing. Is there a way to get this ?

Please let me know if there is a method :)
Thanks and Best Regards,
Hashen.

Offline sangham.net

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Our Community account (till 03/14 used by JohannB)
    • sangham.net
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 08:00:11 AM »
Hi hashend94,

have you already checked out the system of blocks and panels? I would really wonder it it would need further sub-bock systems. The possibilities are really with less limits. You just can not make it a circle but I guess some theme specialists would even manage such.

Try it out and play around first.
Truly! So strive to be one of them. Or like to get a random Sutta?
If you like to get involved in helping developing an "Virtual monastery" to make the internet a little more accessible for Monks, Nuns and Ascetics, please feel heartily invited to join our bilingual community at sangham.net

Offline IchBin™

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 16228
    • My Website
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2013, 01:41:36 PM »
blocks can only be put within a panel. Blocks cannot be put within another block.

Offline feline

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • CO PortaMx Corp.
    • Product developer site
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2013, 06:14:45 AM »
BiB (Block in Block) is one of the features that PortaMx have ...
Try his link to see a example: http://portamx.com/pages/bib-php-yui-block-sample-with-caching/
PortaMx released the Portax-Forum Version 1.2 with revolutionary features, which has no other Forum.

Offline Maxx1

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 352
  • Learning To Fly
    • SMF Theme & Portal Testing
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2013, 08:00:35 AM »
BiB (Block in Block) is one of the features that PortaMx have ...
Try his link to see a example: http://portamx.com/pages/bib-php-yui-block-sample-with-caching/

Is this site about Tiny Portal or your stuff? I don't about others here but, I think you are way out of line, posting all your adverts about your ;portal that I have by the way tested a few times and did like it! I smell Spam, is someone in the kitchen! And yes we all know where your site is thank U very much!

regards,
Maxx
« Last Edit: July 14, 2013, 12:34:59 PM by Maxx1 »
But Mama, That's Where all the fun is!

Offline IchBin™

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 16228
    • My Website
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2013, 08:19:42 PM »
Feline, it's hard to understand what you are showing that is a block within a block. How can one tell just by looking at it? A better, more clear example would be nice.

Curious on the cache too. Are you caching by group? User? Seems like a lot of data to throw in the cache, but certainly worth the load it could possibly take off by not having to query for the blocks etc.

Offline Freddy

  • Code
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2013, 04:54:06 AM »
Incredibly rude Feline...

Offline hashend94

  • Lord of Potatoes
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Otaku life is hard.
    • Supreme Cream Scans
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2013, 10:21:28 AM »
Indeed it is rude, advertising in a another site about your product. This is only going to ruin your products reputation  :idiot2:

That aside, What I meant by multi block is something like the one in the link below. I just want to different module boxes horizontally and then right below another module block. Adk portal has this feature, but their support lacks a lot since there aren't many english speaking staff.

Hope this explains what I want atleast a little bit :)

Link- http://supremecreamscans.com/index.php

Thanks and best Regards,
hashend94

Online lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6151
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #8 on: July 15, 2013, 01:15:59 PM »

Hope this explains what I want atleast a little bit :)

Link- http://supremecreamscans.com/index.php


Sorry, still not sure what part, I'm assuming there was supposed to be an example in the link you supplied.  There doesn't seem to be anything there that can't be done with TP though. Can you point us to the exact part of that page, a screengrab perhaps.

Offline hashend94

  • Lord of Potatoes
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Otaku life is hard.
    • Supreme Cream Scans
Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2013, 01:28:13 PM »
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.