TinyPortal

Development => Support => Topic started by: hashend94 on July 01, 2013, 03:10:04 AM

Title: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 01, 2013, 03:10:04 AM
Link to my forum: http://supremecreamscans.com/
SMF version: SMF 2.0.4
TP version: TP Not yet installed
Default Forum Language: English
Theme name and version: Adk Saiyan
Browser Name and Version: Chrome
Mods installed: Mods listed here
Related Error messages:

So I was wondering if it was possible to put a number of blocks insider one main block. Kind of like a multiblock thing. Is there a way to get this ?

Please let me know if there is a method :)
Thanks and Best Regards,
Hashen.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: sangham.net on July 01, 2013, 08:00:11 AM
Hi hashend94,

have you already checked out the system of blocks and panels? I would really wonder it it would need further sub-bock systems. The possibilities are really with less limits. You just can not make it a circle but I guess some theme specialists would even manage such.

Try it out and play around first.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: IchBin™ on July 02, 2013, 01:41:36 PM
blocks can only be put within a panel. Blocks cannot be put within another block.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: feline on July 14, 2013, 06:14:45 AM
BiB (Block in Block) is one of the features that PortaMx have ...
Try his link to see a example: http://portamx.com/pages/bib-php-yui-block-sample-with-caching/
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: Maxx1 on July 14, 2013, 08:00:35 AM
BiB (Block in Block) is one of the features that PortaMx have ...
Try his link to see a example: http://portamx.com/pages/bib-php-yui-block-sample-with-caching/

Is this site about Tiny Portal or your stuff? I don't about others here but, I think you are way out of line, posting all your adverts about your ;portal that I have by the way tested a few times and did like it! I smell Spam, is someone in the kitchen! And yes we all know where your site is thank U very much!

regards,
Maxx
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: IchBin™ on July 14, 2013, 08:19:42 PM
Feline, it's hard to understand what you are showing that is a block within a block. How can one tell just by looking at it? A better, more clear example would be nice.

Curious on the cache too. Are you caching by group? User? Seems like a lot of data to throw in the cache, but certainly worth the load it could possibly take off by not having to query for the blocks etc.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: Freddy on July 15, 2013, 04:54:06 AM
Incredibly rude Feline...
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 15, 2013, 10:21:28 AM
Indeed it is rude, advertising in a another site about your product. This is only going to ruin your products reputation  :idiot2:

That aside, What I meant by multi block is something like the one in the link below. I just want to different module boxes horizontally and then right below another module block. Adk portal has this feature, but their support lacks a lot since there aren't many english speaking staff.

Hope this explains what I want atleast a little bit :)

Link- http://supremecreamscans.com/index.php

Thanks and best Regards,
hashend94
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 15, 2013, 01:15:59 PM

Hope this explains what I want atleast a little bit :)

Link- http://supremecreamscans.com/index.php


Sorry, still not sure what part, I'm assuming there was supposed to be an example in the link you supplied.  There doesn't seem to be anything there that can't be done with TP though. Can you point us to the exact part of that page, a screengrab perhaps.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 15, 2013, 01:28:13 PM
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: Maxx1 on July 15, 2013, 01:46:41 PM
TP as Brad explained has many ways to setup panels and blocks layouts.
If you go in the TP control panel you can experiment by starting an article and you will be shown the various layout options there...TP admin > articles.

and TP will not mess up your system like some do , so you may want give it a try!

maxx

Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: feline on July 15, 2013, 01:57:53 PM
Feline, it's hard to understand what you are showing that is a block within a block. How can one tell just by looking at it? A better, more clear example would be nice.

Curious on the cache too. Are you caching by group? User? Seems like a lot of data to throw in the cache, but certainly worth the load it could possibly take off by not having to query for the blocks etc.
I think, here is not the right place to get more informations about this.
If you have questions about the BiB technology, or the block caching, you can ask this on our support page.
We have no problems with people they develop other modifications for SMF so we obviously the case here.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: ZarPrime on July 15, 2013, 02:06:53 PM
I think, here is not the right place to get more informations about this.
If you have questions about the BiB technology, or the block caching, you can ask this on our support page.
We have no problems with people they develop other modifications for SMF so we obviously the case here.

You're right, this is not the right place to talk about your own portal.  Keep it on your own site.  You have done this before, and I, for one, don't appreciate your antics.  I have threatened to moderate your posts here before, and I won't hesitate to do that if you continue with your crap.  In addition, I won't hesitate to remove your signature should this ever happen again.  Stay on your own site.  Nobody appreciates your input here.

ZarPrime
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: feline on July 15, 2013, 02:11:26 PM
Wow .. crazy peoples here  ;D
Do you known, that a lot of code in TinyPortal is written by me?
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: ZarPrime on July 15, 2013, 02:12:52 PM
Oh, yeah?  What's that make you???

Yeah, I know you wrote a few lines of code when you were here.  I would guess that's why you decided it was OK to use some TP code in some of your early versions of PortaPottie MX.  Again, I am just about at the breaking point with you.  I have been here before and some of the rest of the team have convinced me to leave you alone.  It won't work this time.  Keep pushing me and you will be gone once and for all.

ZarPrime
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: feline on July 15, 2013, 02:17:27 PM
At the time, where I helped Bloc on TinyPortal, you were not here yet .... ^-^
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: Maxx1 on July 15, 2013, 02:24:45 PM
Yes Like I said we know where your site is and I and many other here know who was responsible for TP, and we know you were involved as well, But it's still not right pushing other stuff on the completions site.

Seems like your post are all about your portal and not TP.

What happen between you and who ever in the past has nothing to do with the here and now!
I will say it again, there is nothing like TP, And some of us have tried yours.

I don't like links and sigs anyway!

and this is why!

regards,
Maxx
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: ZarPrime on July 15, 2013, 02:31:30 PM
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.

hashend94,

Block in block is not all that powerful.  Given the right code, and a little bit of time, I could duplicate what is done in that image you posted with TinyPortal.  That's the power of TP.

ZarPrime
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 15, 2013, 02:39:02 PM
Hey ZarPrime,
Actually I prefer TP over any other portal because your support is more faster and helpful than any other. Support is crucial for a person like me since my knowledge in coding is almost nil  :'( . That's why i'm trying my best to find a way to replicate what that portal mod is doing onto TP. What I want is simple really, I just want a few blocks in the top pannel to display blocks like 2'. I'm pretty sure you already know what Im talking about. So If  you can help me find a way to replicate it I'm more than greatful to you,
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: IchBin™ on July 15, 2013, 02:43:09 PM
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.

Yes, this layout can be replicated by using multiple panels. TP has an upper and top, lower and bottom panels so you can put multiple block layouts like that. You don't have to put a block into a block for it.

No reason to be so hostile everyone. The way Feline deals with things in such a way that offends anyone will only harm her reputation. Treating her in the same way you feel you are being treated will only make you/us look bad in the same manner.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 15, 2013, 02:57:10 PM
Yes, this layout can be replicated by using multiple panels. TP has an upper and top, lower and bottom panels so you can put multiple block layouts like that. You don't have to put a block into a block for it.

No reason to be so hostile everyone. The way Feline deals with things in such a way that offends anyone will only harm her reputation. Treating her in the same way you feel you are being treated will only make you/us look bad in the same manner.

Not sure what you mean by multiple panels or how I can get them. But the thing is I want all of these to be in the top panel and not the upper pannel. Well I went through that I found grid layout a bit close to what I want. But not exactly what I was expecting. Is there a way to get it to work like the one i've drawn in blue?
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: feline on July 15, 2013, 03:23:30 PM
I'm not sure if this possible with TP, but with a PHP block (I think TP have this) you can create any Layout you need.
In the first part you have to get all data you need to show (from the database or what else) and in the second part you can put all the data in a table or divisions.
I hope this helps a little bit ...
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: IchBin™ on July 15, 2013, 05:11:49 PM
More details please. Are you doing this only on the frontpage? Why can you use multiple panels?

You can also do things like Feline has suggested. To code one block to look like two blocks.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 15, 2013, 11:40:56 PM
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.

Kind of like this?

Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 16, 2013, 12:48:23 AM
okay so in the picture i've attached, whats drawn in blue are main blocks placed horizontally. And the ones drawn in red are actually 2 more blocks in one of those major horizontal blocks(Ones in blue). I want a method to replicate this.

Kind of like this?

Yes ! something like that!
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 16, 2013, 12:58:13 AM
The layout I had in mind
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 16, 2013, 12:52:15 PM
The layout I had in mind

 ??? Isn't that what I showed you?  Two panels (blocks) across at top, Single panel (block) underneath, followed by another single panel (block)
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 16, 2013, 12:57:52 PM
single block
dual blocks
single block
single block

:3 thats what I drew in the screen shot
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 16, 2013, 01:18:07 PM
OK, got it like this.  ;)
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 16, 2013, 01:28:59 PM
WOOT ! There you go ! :D How did you do it ??
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 16, 2013, 01:36:13 PM
WOOT ! There you go ! :D How did you do it ??

 8)

In TP admin > Panels
1: Turn off left and right panels (Use left panel ?, set to off) (Use right panel ?, set to off)
2: Upper panel set to "Display the blocks in 2 columns"
4: Save.

In TP admin > Blocks
5: Create one top block
6: Create two Upper blocks
7: Create one front page / lower block / or bottom block the choice is yours.
8: Repeat step 7 as required.
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: hashend94 on July 16, 2013, 01:49:42 PM
Ohh so the left and the right panels wont be usable then ?  :-\
Title: Re: Multiblock ? (Blocks within a block)
Post by: lurkalot on July 16, 2013, 02:11:14 PM
Ohh so the left and the right panels wont be usable then ?  :-\

Sorry, I was going by your diagram, that doesn't mention the left, right panels.  Just ignore step 1  ;)