News: When asking for support, it helps us and you, if you read the Posting Guidelines

Login  |  Register
* *
TinyPortal on Twitter
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2018, 10:49:09 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
  • Total Members: 3734
  • Latest: nati9
Stats
  • Total Posts: 186722
  • Total Topics: 20602
  • Online Today: 148
  • Online Ever: 629
  • (November 08, 2018, 01:36:54 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 138
Total: 138

Author Topic: Collapse button  (Read 404 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline bigguy

  • Beta Tester
  • *
  • Posts: 189
  • Be Nice...
    • What's Ur Beef
Collapse button
« on: December 03, 2018, 05:36:43 PM »
I think there is something wrong with the collapse button to collapse side panels. It overlays on the updated topics link. It should maybe be moved down a bit. I have a block enabled on my forum to the right of the boards. See attachment

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2018, 05:42:51 PM »
That's been known about but we conveniently ignored it... I think as we didn't know where to actually put it!

Offline bigguy

  • Beta Tester
  • *
  • Posts: 189
  • Be Nice...
    • What's Ur Beef
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2018, 05:43:52 PM »
Right there is fine if it could be moved down a bit.

Offline bigguy

  • Beta Tester
  • *
  • Posts: 189
  • Be Nice...
    • What's Ur Beef
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2018, 05:44:28 PM »
You might have to move the block down a bit as well but it's fine there.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5471
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2018, 11:24:00 PM »
I tend to turn them off at the moment, at least until we find a new position for them.

Tinyportal Admin > Settings > Allow the panels to be collapsed?  Yes / No

Offline bigguy

  • Beta Tester
  • *
  • Posts: 189
  • Be Nice...
    • What's Ur Beef
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2018, 04:30:18 AM »
There are some people on my site that actually use it to collapse the side bar. They don't like using it in the forum. SO I either leave it up for them or get rid of the block, which I don't wanna do. I'll deal with it for now. ;)

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1148
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2018, 08:10:59 AM »
Looking at the buttons (again)

We can drop them below the text, but that will create a white space above all content.
A fixed position in a panel is not suitable , since sites may all look and behave differently as to what panels are shown.

See attachment 1:
option 1: is with the white space

option 2: 2.1 has a very nice dropmenu on top with empty spaces.
Tino, do you know if it is possible to add an element in there?


option 3: see attachment two.
We could suppress the buttons in 2.1 and maybe include a standard block with the upshrink icons?

I created a php block to show the buttons in the right side bar now for demonstration purposes.

The block code is:
Code: [Select]
global $context;

echo '
<div style="float: right;  margin-right: 0.5em;">', $context['TPortal']['upshrinkpanel'] , '</div>';

Running TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.2 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.2 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2018, 08:19:16 AM »
option 2: 2.1 has a very nice dropmenu on top with empty spaces.
Tino, do you know if it is possible to add an element in there?

We could I think using the buffer hook and add it in the html. I can't see a easier way.

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2018, 09:40:55 AM »
Like this...

Thats putting this in tpAddCopy

Quote
$buffer = str_replace('<li class="unread_links">', '<span class="tp_upshrink" style="float:right; margin-top:6px; padding-left:10px;">'.$context['TPortal']['upshrinkpanel'].'</span><li class="unread_links">', $buffer);

The css should be in the css file under the class tp_upshrink but inline was quick and easy to show it. 

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1148
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Collapse button
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2018, 10:16:36 AM »
That is not what I meant, but maybe even better...  O0
Running TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.2 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.2 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info