Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media

Recent

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

August 19, 2022, 04:50:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
  • Total Members: 3843
  • Latest: Tricky
Stats
  • Total Posts: 193479
  • Total Topics: 21088
  • Online today: 51
  • Online ever: 1035
  • (November 26, 2020, 04:45:12 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 42
Total: 42

Author Topic: CNN RSS Feeds  (Read 23426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RoarinRow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1034
  • Ride my AV!
    • Avalanche Style
CNN RSS Feeds
« on: March 29, 2006, 11:47:05 PM »
Just found this link to CNN's RSS Feeds.  http://www.cnn.com/services/rss/

Here's what it looks like on my site.  When you click on any of the links it brings you to the full story on CNN's website.

I used a Center Block using 'RSS' option.

SMF 2.0 RC3
TP 1.0 beta 5-1
Wordpress 3.0

nite0859

  • Guest
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2006, 10:13:36 PM »
Howdy.

For some reason, I can't get my rss feed to work at all.

I try to create a new RSS block.

The RSS feed is : http://finance.yahoo.com/rss/mostpopular

When I attempt to put 'http://finance.yahoo.com/rss/mostpopular' into the RSS feed box, I see nothing at all.

How'd you get your to work ?

Offline RoarinRow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1034
  • Ride my AV!
    • Avalanche Style
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2006, 10:49:02 PM »
Howdy.

For some reason, I can't get my rss feed to work at all.

I try to create a new RSS block.

The RSS feed is : http://finance.yahoo.com/rss/mostpopular

When I attempt to put 'http://finance.yahoo.com/rss/mostpopular' into the RSS feed box, I see nothing at all.

How'd you get your to work ?


I don't know really, I just entered the rss feed link into the block where it ask for it and wala, it was there.  Could be it be a browser or anti virus issue?  I saw someone else on the site having a problem with rss feed.   ???

SMF 2.0 RC3
TP 1.0 beta 5-1
Wordpress 3.0

Paulie

  • Guest
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2006, 04:37:56 AM »
Alternatively, you could try the method i use which is generate a script from here http://idea.zanestate.edu/feeds/build.php?s=build&src=http%3A%2F%2Ffinance.yahoo.com%2Frss%2Fmostpopular&chan=title&num=3&desc=0&date=n&targ=y&preview=Preview+the+Feed

i tried your URL and it seems to preview ok. Just copy the script and paste it into a html/script box. Job done.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2006, 04:40:39 AM by Paulie »

Offline Shadow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • My Kingdom
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2007, 12:37:05 AM »
It's won't work for me....I am testing this code out on a test site in TP and don't work

Paulie

  • Guest
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2007, 01:27:56 AM »
Should do. I just looked :)

Offline RoarinRow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1034
  • Ride my AV!
    • Avalanche Style
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2007, 04:35:55 PM »
You probably have to enable XML/RSS news via your control panel.

Admin CP -> News and newsletters -> Settings -> Enable XML/RSS news

There is also a field there for limiting post length.

SMF 2.0 RC3
TP 1.0 beta 5-1
Wordpress 3.0

Offline Shadow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • My Kingdom
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2007, 11:09:03 PM »
I install the "Feed Poster Mod" on my forum and my test forum.  So I can add all diff feed's I want with out fighting with any error;s or that

rider

  • Guest
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2007, 01:00:39 AM »
I install the "Feed Poster Mod" on my forum and my test forum.  So I can add all diff feed's I want with out fighting with any error;s or that
You should be able to add any RSS feed you want.I Have multible Rss feed blocks and they all work with no trouble.

Offline Shadow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
    • My Kingdom
Re: CNN RSS Feeds
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2007, 01:03:42 AM »
Well, I can on some feeder not all of them.  But The mod's is fine for right now. 

But I have the one feed on a block I click on a link and it's told me the file is gone