News: Welcome to the TinyPortal Support site.

Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

March 30, 2020, 10:56:15 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 189563
  • Total Topics: 20807
  • Online Today: 62
  • Online Ever: 917
  • (January 21, 2020, 09:02:26 AM)
Users Online
Users: 2
Guests: 45
Total: 47

Author Topic: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages  (Read 1625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jernatety

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« on: February 07, 2020, 01:39:32 PM »
Every one of my TP Pages has been flagged as being in error in Google Search Console. And I don't know why. It says it was first detected on 9/18/19 and they've all been in error since, including newly added pages.

This is the only detail I'm provided by SC to fix. "Either "name" or "item.name" should be specified"

Anybody have any idea what this means? Is it possibly the "Query Title" field on HTML articles? I use hyphens.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6466
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2020, 01:49:26 PM »
Did you turn on the linktree for each of those articles as advised before?

Offline jernatety

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2020, 02:08:10 PM »
Did you turn on the linktree for each of those articles as advised before?

No that's turned off because I don't want anybody seeing the "my articles" link to provide them access to searching through. Is there a way to block guests and members from seeing the link tree but still have it active?

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2012
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2020, 02:10:36 PM »
No.
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6466
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2020, 02:16:29 PM »
Not actually sure what you mean about the "My Articles" link.  Where are you seeing this just by turning on the linktree?

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2012
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2020, 03:43:28 PM »
I just had a look at your site using the online checking tool:
https://search.google.com/structured-data/testing-tool

The problem seems to be in this piece of code
Code: [Select]
<script type="application/ld+json">
{
"@context": "http://schema.org",
"@type": "BreadcrumbList",
"itemListElement": [{
"@type": "ListItem",
"position": 1,
"item": {
"@id": "",
"name": ""
}
}]
}

I do not recognize that, but what I do know is that it is not coming from the TinyPortal code...

So i assume you have something (a MOD?) else causing the errors..
In my site all pages (including the TinyPortal ones) validate fine and it does not contain that code.

From what I read online it seems that the property name must have a value... you may try to change that code to state:

         "itemListElement": [{
            "@type": "ListItem",
            "position": 1,
            "item": {
               "@id": "",
               "name": "item"
            }
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2012
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2020, 03:46:03 PM »
By the way: I just noticed that you got this exact same answer last year...
And it referred back to the Optimus MOD.
https://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=569815.msg4032523#msg4032523

I just checked it on my test site: if I suppress the Linktree in the article I get the same message, so it means Optimus does not handle the functionality well when the linktree is suppressed (I guess because in the standard forum that option does not exist).

So you may have to address your request to the Optimus MOD if they are willing to support this feature...
« Last Edit: February 08, 2020, 12:05:35 AM by @rjen »
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6466
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2020, 10:52:24 AM »

I just checked it on my test site: if I suppress the Linktree in the article I get the same message, so it means Optimus does not handle the functionality well when the linktree is suppressed (I guess because in the standard forum that option does not exist).


I not sure I understand the part about the linktree not existing in the standard forum. It does doesn't it? Or am I thinking of something else.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6466
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2020, 11:16:20 AM »
Thinking about this further. Maybe our article linktree setting should be renamed to Breadcrumbs.

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2012
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Google BreadCrumb Errors On TP Pages
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2020, 01:49:35 PM »

I not sure I understand the part about the linktree not existing in the standard forum. It does doesn't it? Or am I thinking of something else.

I was referring to the OPTION to HIDE the linktree: that does not exist in standard AFAIK
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info