TP-Docs
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media

Recent

Welcome to TinyPortal. Please login or sign up.

April 29, 2024, 11:18:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
  • Total Members: 3,885
  • Latest: Growner
Stats
  • Total Posts: 195,174
  • Total Topics: 21,220
  • Online today: 152
  • Online ever: 3,540 (September 03, 2022, 01:38:54 AM)
Users Online
  • Users: 0
  • Guests: 101
  • Total: 101

Overall site design

Started by davo88, January 18, 2024, 02:04:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

davo88

I'm just getting started with TP and trying to figure out how best to use panels, blocks, articles etc. with TP installed on 2.1.4 forum. There are about 7000 topics in my vintage motorcycle forum currently running 2.0.19. Many of them contain unique technical information not available elsewhere. But now there is so much of it, that the site looks a bit overwhelming if you are not good at searching and finding stuff.

So the object of the exercise with TP, is to provide readers with pathways (and a bit of eye candy) into all the content. By 'pathways' I mean summaries of long topics, lists of topics, predefined search menus, Google and SMF search options, help pages plus some pics to make it more interesting. In other words, show readers a bit of what's inside all the topics and give them multiple ways to get there.

By the way, TP looks like a wonderful piece of software that will totally transform an SMF forum. So very well done to everyone who has contributed to its development and creation of this website.

Today I just wanted to ask about the site design used here on the TP site itself. On arrival at tinyportal.net, there is a front page and readers can go to the SMF forum via the 'Forum' link in the top horizontal menu. Or to 'TP Docs' via the same menu or links in the left hand panel.