Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media

Recent

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

May 29, 2020, 04:19:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 190003
  • Total Topics: 20832
  • Online Today: 288
  • Online Ever: 917
  • (January 21, 2020, 09:02:26 AM)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 85
Total: 86

Author Topic: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage  (Read 2107 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2115
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2020, 08:27:42 AM »
What Lurkakot said: SMF 2.0 does not play nice on php 7.3.

The thing with the Frontpage may very well be caused by that. Max php version to use with SMF 2.0.17 is 7.2
Running TP1.6.6 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6611
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2020, 08:33:45 AM »
What Lurkakot said: SMF 2.0 does not play nice on php 7.3.

The thing with the Frontpage may very well be caused by that. Max php version to use with SMF 2.0.17 is 7.2

Strange, glad I'm not the only one thinking along those lines, but I just checked the requirements and it does indeed say "Versions of SMF from 2.0.16 onwards require a version of PHP between 5.3 and 7.3."

That said I still don't believe it's completely compatible.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6611
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2020, 08:45:35 AM »
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.

Offline test333

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2020, 09:50:14 AM »
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6611
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2020, 10:05:03 AM »
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.

I did see your error log was full of depreciated errors fro ADK blog, but as I didn't see it it installed anywhere, I ignored it.  Obviously ADK Blog isn't compatible with later PHP versions is problem.

EDIT:  By the way did it give any tests failed warnings when you tried to either install TP or ADK Portal?
« Last Edit: March 29, 2020, 10:38:24 AM by lurkalot »

Offline test333

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2020, 10:57:35 AM »
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.

I did see your error log was full of depreciated errors fro ADK blog, but as I didn't see it it installed anywhere, I ignored it.  Obviously ADK Blog isn't compatible with later PHP versions is problem.

EDIT:  By the way did it give any tests failed warnings when you tried to either install TP or ADK Portal?
I uninstalled "ADK blog" and tested TK before I asked you to login it. I did find error message when I installed TP, it showed index.php could not be replaced. As for "ADK Blog", I remember that there was no error.
I have tested simple Portal, ezportal, dream port. Simple portal cuold not be installed. EZportal has bad view on ipad. Dream view seems work well with "ADK blog".

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2115
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2020, 11:07:52 AM »
If a Mod gives an error upon install that means it may not work.

It seems the Blog and TinyPortal are both editing the same section of index.php : the second mod to be installed will error: you are supposed to fix that error manually if you proceed to install anyway!

FYI: in SMF 2.1 TinyPortal is all hooks ( no file edits) so this will not be a problem in future .
Running TP1.6.6 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline test333

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2020, 11:34:51 AM »
Downgraded php to 7.1.33. When I installed TinyPortal, got two errors:
can not modify index.php, can not replace index.php
It still conflicted with ADK blog.
Everything is exact the same as before.( PHP 7.3).

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2115
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2020, 11:40:53 AM »
The problem is not the php version: it’s the conflict between the mods.

Changing the php version will not change the conflict.

If you want to use both mods you will need to make the change manually. If you are not familiar changing codes, make sure to make backups first, because you can easily break the forum completely...
Running TP1.6.6 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6611
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2020, 11:47:24 AM »
Yes as @rjen mentioned above, it's because both those mods edit the same file(s).  So If you have ADK blog installed you will get test failed errors when you try to install TP.  And if you have TP installed and then try to install ADK blog you will get test failed errors as well.

Your log had a load of depreciated errors from ADK blog, indicating it didn't like the version of php you were running it on. ..