News: September 21st, 2019, The Tinyportal team is pleased to announce the release of ~~ TinyPortal 1.6.4! GET IT NOW!!!

Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

December 16, 2019, 06:58:36 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 189283
  • Total Topics: 20776
  • Online Today: 65
  • Online Ever: 629
  • (November 08, 2018, 01:36:54 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 42
Total: 42

Author Topic: Menu feedback  (Read 1363 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6357
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2019, 02:09:56 PM »
Thanks, that’s what I suspected

Adding a new one, gives arti31

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1932
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2019, 02:16:26 PM »
That makes sense: you want the Id in the table, and retrieve the query title when building the menu. The previous function must have saved the query title in the table, causing the menu to break once the article query title was updated.

So not the functionality that you want to restore
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1932
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2019, 02:13:34 AM »
I fixed the menu not using the shortnames for articles and article categories in 1.6.4...

If you want to test, replace the Tportal.php file with attached one...
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1932
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2019, 03:00:18 AM »
Anyway, I have some feedback regarding the menu block...
1. There doesn't seem to be a way to do a horizontal layout
2. When you add a page as a menu item, it uses the page ID for the link rather than the query title.

Item 2. is fixed. As for item 1: (without making any promises, because that may be more work that I have time atm) waht exactly would a horizontal layout need to look like?

I am assuming you are still referring to a 'block' menu to go into for example a top or upper block?
You can already add options to the SMF menu with the menu manager, so that's not what you are asking I guess...
Running TP1.6.4 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 RC2
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline Oldiesmann

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • Cincy Space
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2019, 11:15:23 PM »
Yes, I'm looking for a top/upper panel block. Something with links separated by spaces, | or some other character of choice perhaps (see https://www.christianphotographers.com for an example of what I'm trying to replicate).

I do see that you can add new items to the SMF menu, but haven't played around with that too much yet. Can you do a drop-down menu there or just a single item linking to something else?

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6357
    • Camera Craniums
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2019, 12:16:12 AM »
Yes, I'm looking for a top/upper panel block. Something with links separated by spaces, | or some other character of choice perhaps (see https://www.christianphotographers.com for an example of what I'm trying to replicate).

I do see that you can add new items to the SMF menu, but haven't played around with that too much yet. Can you do a drop-down menu there or just a single item linking to something else?

You can use your existing CP menu in a upper block pretty easily, You can see here, just below my shoutbox, https://cctestsite.info/testsite3/index.php  But you'd know that already, so I'm guessing you want something that looks the same but works differently?

The TP menu, at the moment it can only add single items to the SMF menu, no drop downs etc.

Offline Oldiesmann

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
    • Cincy Space
Re: Menu feedback
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2019, 10:15:10 PM »
I know I can use the existing menu. My goal is to make the site easier to manage overall with less HTML code involved.