News: TinyPortal Release Schedule. Please read this update for More Info.

Login  |  Register
* *
TinyPortal on Twitter
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2018, 07:00:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 186167
  • Total Topics: 20577
  • Online Today: 154
  • Online Ever: 629
  • (November 08, 2018, 01:36:54 PM)
Users Online
Users: 2
Guests: 97
Total: 99

Author Topic: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?  (Read 827 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline diegolyanky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« on: October 03, 2018, 08:11:00 AM »
Hi Guys:

Is there any way to have the left blocks fixed ? ... I mean, "Always show left blocks", and without chance of hidding it.

I'm using SMF 1.1.21 with Helios Multi Theme running under PHP 7.1 ( Easy Apache 4 ) ...

Thanks a lot for helping me

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1004
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2018, 08:35:27 AM »
Hello, can you also mention what TinyPortal version you are using?
Running TP1.6.0 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline diegolyanky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2018, 09:22:29 AM »
Sure, Sorry for that... I'm using TP 0.999

Thanks for reply :)

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1004
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2018, 11:10:34 AM »
Should be possible, though your version is quite old.
Base on current version:

Make sure to set the panel on in all sections where you want it (panel settings) , make sure panels cannot be collapsed ( general settings)

Then check all blocks in the panel that these cannot be collapsed... (block settings)

Does that help?
Running TP1.6.0 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline diegolyanky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2018, 04:37:43 PM »
Should be possible, though your version is quite old.
Base on current version:

Make sure to set the panel on in all sections where you want it (panel settings) , make sure panels cannot be collapsed ( general settings)

Then check all blocks in the panel that these cannot be collapsed... (block settings)

Does that help?

Nop... I have all blocks in the left panel with option cannot be collapsed... and, registered members and guests can collapse it.


Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1004
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2018, 10:59:35 PM »
Do you have a link to the forum?
Running TP1.6.0 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline diegolyanky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2018, 09:14:04 AM »
Do you have a link to the forum?

Sent by PM

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 1004
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2018, 09:37:55 AM »
Ok, first I see that you are not on TP 0.999 but on 0.9.7...  :-\

I have never run a version that old, so I am not sure if the functionality is already there...
Secondly your forum is highly customized, so I can only hope that if the function was there in TP to start, it still works...

What I see is that the panel upshrink icons are showing (not where TP puts them, so those have been moved too) in the header. (attachment 1)
There are no collapse items showing in the blocks, so that's good.

What you seem to want is the collapse item in the header to be deactivated?
You can only do that for all panels at a time, not per panel.

You should find a setting for that (I hope, because your version of TP is so old) under: menu option TinyPortal > Settings
(https://www.--yourforumhere---.info/index.php?action=tpadmin;sa=settings)

The setting you are looking for is named: "allow the panels to be collapsed". Set it to NO
Help is found here: https://www.tinyportal.net/docs/index.php?cat=115

If that setting is not there (or if it does not work) you may need to edit the template files to remove it...
Running TP1.6.0 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.1 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Online lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5331
    • Camera Craniums
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2018, 10:31:22 AM »
First version I ever used was 0.9.8, that was in 2007 or earlier.  :o Functionality was pretty sparse back then if I remember.

I know the site is heavily but really it should be brought up to date.  Why not build a test site, either live or local, and experiment with that.  Once it's all working replace your live site.

Offline diegolyanky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
Re: How to make "Fixed Blocks"?
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2018, 10:56:57 AM »
I haven't that settings...

I'll find it !... Now is "personal some thing" ...