News: July 9th, 2018, The Tinyportal team is pleased to announce the release of ~~ TinyPortal 1.5.1! GET IT NOW!!!

Login  |  Register
* * *
TinyPortal on Twitter
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 15, 2018, 05:23:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 185532
  • Total Topics: 20546
  • Online Today: 68
  • Online Ever: 383
  • (January 02, 2015, 05:58:49 AM)
Users Online
Users: 2
Guests: 23
Total: 25

Skinz





amazon.com

Author Topic: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1  (Read 549 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« on: August 08, 2018, 06:50:24 AM »
Hi Friends,
Finally I'm about ready to upgrade.  I was going to do it just now, but the advice to take a backup first, hit home.  So after I get the backup (which can take several hours) I'll start the upgrade.

I have some questions about the info on the SMF mod site

1 -- In the red text at the top, it says

Quote
A previous version of TP 1.0 removed the downloads and images directory which will remove needed files for your site.

I don't understand the relevance of that, or what it has to do with upgrading.  I don't know if I ever had version 1.0 of TP.

2 -- Regarding the first red "Important" note, about not using the editor to make changes to any TP articles which were pre-existing to 1.5.1 -- geez, to be honest, it kind of makes me want to switch my TP articles to my SMF Articles mod system.

But anyway, when it says not to use the editor, what if we wanted to change something like the Viewing Options?  We can edit the article itself using a text editor.  But there are a lot of other options in the editor, and I don't think those can be changed with a local text editor.

Or is the new editor very different and doesn't have those options anymore?

3 -- About 1.5.1 being responsive and pressing Ctrl + f5.  Do you only have to do that if you have a responsive theme?  Or do you have to do that no matter what kind of theme?  What about members and visitors - do they have to press Ctrl + f5 too?

Thanks for your help  :)
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 10:33:14 AM by lurkalot »

Online @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 811
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2018, 10:17:00 AM »
Item 1. Should not happen, but it is recommended to always make backups before installation no mods

Item 2. I have not had any problems with old articles, but if you have complex formatting some differences may occur. Just check the layout once you make changes . Same would apply when moving to other solutions.

Item 3. This would only apply if you are using a responsive theme, but the remark on the mod site is outdated. This was already fixed with 1.5.0 and a reload of a potentially cached css file is now forced automatically upon install.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2018, 11:08:39 AM by @rjen »
Running TP1.5.1 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP1.6.0 on SMF2.0
Testing TP1.6.0 on SMF2.1
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2018, 11:46:19 AM »
Ok, thanks for the info.  Backup just finished, so here I go to uninstall 2.1.  Cross fingers.

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5121
    • Camera Craniums
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2018, 12:45:51 PM »
Ok, thanks for the info.  Backup just finished, so here I go to uninstall 2.1.  Cross fingers.

Looks like it went ok Brynn.  ;)

As @rjen already pointed out, backing up should be done before installing or uninstalling mods, just as a precaution.  You were running TP 1.2 so the stuff about TP1.0 wasn't really relevant to your case.

If your theme isn't responsive you should go to TP settings and Select non responsive themes then save.  That'll make sure the theme displays as it used to before.

The article editor should behave fine, but you might see some slight differences in the final output, so if you have a article you change on a regular basis I'd advise to copy and paste it into a test article and make some edits and saves to test it.

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2018, 04:54:36 PM »
Hi Mick!
Yeah, it went through really easily!  Given all the problems I've had lately (with my host, and upgrading Simple Portal my other site) I'm so happy for smooth sailing.

Uh-oh....I see my front page is cut off now:  https://forum.inkscapecommunity.com/index.php  It's usually twice that long - a lot of contents are missing.

I remember when I switched to the front panel, I had to change something in my database, to allow for an extra long page (it's in this thread  https://www.tinyportal.net/index.php?topic=36023.0).

Do I need to go and do that again?  Did the upgrade reset the database option?  Or did something else change about the front panel?

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5121
    • Camera Craniums
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2018, 05:01:21 PM »
Hi Mick!
Yeah, it went through really easily!  Given all the problems I've had lately (with my host, and upgrading Simple Portal my other site) I'm so happy for smooth sailing.

Uh-oh....I see my front page is cut off now:  https://forum.inkscapecommunity.com/index.php  It's usually twice that long - a lot of contents are missing.

I remember when I switched to the front panel, I had to change something in my database, to allow for an extra long page (it's in this thread  https://www.tinyportal.net/index.php?topic=36023.0).

Do I need to go and do that again?  Did the upgrade reset the database option?  Or did something else change about the front panel?

Glad that part went ok.  Hopefully it should cure the errors you were getting.  The edit yo made to the database, https://www.tinyportal.net/index.php?topic=36023.msg292232#msg292232 yes it probably needs to be done again, or at least it's worth checking to see if it's been set back. Hopefully it has and should be a simple fix for you.

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2018, 05:06:16 PM »
Yes, it looks like the upgrade reset that.  Hhmmmm, however, changing it to longtext does not seem to fix it.

I don't remember having to restart anything before.  I wonder what the problem is?

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2018, 05:20:56 PM »
The row just below "body", which is called "access" is also set for "text".  But I don't know what "access" is or does.

Is there a Save button somewhere that I missed?  The "body" item is showing "longtext" for the Type column, so it seems to be successfully applied.

I'm not sure what else to do for this...

Offline brynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2018, 05:29:34 PM »
Aaahhh, whew!

I just had to paste the entire page code back into the box.

Now I think we're all set  8)

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5121
    • Camera Craniums
Re: upgrading v 1.2 to 1.5.1
« Reply #9 on: August 11, 2018, 10:32:57 AM »
Glad it worked out for you, if all is well I'll mark this solved.