News: When asking for support, it helps us and you, if you read the Posting Guidelines

Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

November 22, 2019, 05:32:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 189262
  • Total Topics: 20773
  • Online Today: 60
  • Online Ever: 629
  • (November 08, 2018, 01:36:54 PM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 52
Total: 52

Author Topic: A few errors  (Read 3559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DAD

  • Guest
A few errors
« on: April 11, 2010, 06:04:29 AM »
Hi

Got tons of errors in my error log after upgrading to TP1 beta 5.1

8: Undefined offset: 1
File: /var/www/vhosts/xxxxxxx/httpdocs/Sources/TPSubs.php
Line: 78

also

8: Undefined offset: 1
File: /var/www/vhosts/xxxxxxxx/httpdocs/Sources/TPSubs.php
Line: 186

and

Unable to load the '.english' language file.

I've tried a fresh install of SMF and also reverting back to the earlier version of TP, but the problem are still there.  They're filling up about 700 pages in a few minutes so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
« Last Edit: April 18, 2010, 12:34:02 PM by ZarPrime »

Offline Renegd98

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 733
Re: A few errors
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2010, 08:11:20 AM »
You sometimes will get errors as part of the install and update.  Remove them all and lets see what you have show up after using the software for a while.

Offline G6Cad

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 12643
    • FamiljeGodis
Re: A few errors
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2010, 08:39:32 AM »
Also make sure you have updated your language files for the TP, dont know what other labguage you might have there so you need to check so the language files are there and readable

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2010, 10:23:09 AM »
Cheers Guys, I'll just wait and see how it goes.

BTW, I'm using no other languages apart from english - all set to readable!

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2010, 06:09:07 AM »
*bump

Still getting these errors, any ideas how can fix them?

Offline ZarPrime

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 4653
Re: A few errors
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2010, 08:15:15 AM »
Dad,

Are you saying that these errors persisted when you reverted back to an earlier version of TP?  Did you have these errors before you upgraded TP?  Oftentimes, these Undefined offset errors are due to other SMF Mods not being installed for a custom theme or due to a block that you have added that has bad code?

Have you added any new blocks recently?  New SMF Mods?  Have you tried the SMF default theme to see if these errors happen with that theme?  Do they happen on every page, for instance, do they happen on a page that doesn't show blocks, like the Calendar?  Can we have a link to your site?

ZarPrime

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2010, 09:06:51 AM »
Hi

No I didn't have these errors before I upgraded and no new mods, themes or blocks have been added.

The site works fine either in SMF 1.1.11 or SMF 2.0 RC3 but as soon as I add TP, that's when the errors occur.

I have a test site which is using an earlier version of the database which is working fine - http://temp.dadsfme.co.uk although some of the blocks don't work due to pointing to the wrong locations (I know about those).

The main site is http://www.dadsfme.co.uk and this is the one that's causing me headaches.  The error log just fills up with masses amounts of the same errors.

Thanks!

Offline ZarPrime

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 4653
Re: A few errors
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2010, 09:32:05 AM »
Dad,

If you are saying that the temp site is basically using a copy of the same database, except for maybe a few more posts, then it doesn't make sense that the temp one would work error free and the main site doesn't.  The one thing you could check is your FTP permissions for both sites and make sure they are set the same, and generally check other settings between the 2 sites and make sure they are set identical.  If that doesn't solve it, the only other thing I would suggest is to extract the TP 1.0 beta 5-1 package into a temp folder on your local machine and upload (overwrite) all the correct TP files in the package to their correct location.  Remember that you are on RC3 so the RC3 files and the common files are the ones you want to concentrate on.

ZarPrime

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2010, 10:01:08 AM »
Dad,

If you are saying that the temp site is basically using a copy of the same database, except for maybe a few more posts, then it doesn't make sense that the temp one would work error free and the main site doesn't.  The one thing you could check is your FTP permissions for both sites and make sure they are set the same, and generally check other settings between the 2 sites and make sure they are set identical.  If that doesn't solve it, the only other thing I would suggest is to extract the TP 1.0 beta 5-1 package into a temp folder on your local machine and upload (overwrite) all the correct TP files in the package to their correct location.  Remember that you are on RC3 so the RC3 files and the common files are the ones you want to concentrate on.

ZarPrime
Yeah I know it doesn't make sense lol.  I've spent ages comparing the two sites and as far as I know they're identical apart from (as you rightly said) the test site is using a database from a couple of months previous.  I 'could' try using the same database as used in the test site but I don't really want to lose a couple of months worth of posts and new members.

I'll try what you said and overwrite the TP files and see what that does.

I'll get back to you soon.  Thanks!

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2010, 10:56:06 AM »
Right, I did what you said and it seems to have done the trick (fingers crossed) ;)  At least it seems to have got rid of the vast amount of ''.english' language file' &  'TPSubs.php' errors.

At first I couldn't manually transfer the TP files folder as the owner was Apache so I simply renamed it and then copied the whole folder and its contents.

I'm left with one error though which is cropping up now.....


8: Undefined index: tp-showlatest

File: /var/www/vhosts/dadsfme.co.uk/httpdocs/Themes/default/TPShout.template.php (tp_below sub template - eval?)
Line: 240

....I take it that's the line which would normally say "show next 50", but if so I can live with that - unless you know a fix for that too lol

Cheers for the advice though, I really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Offline ZarPrime

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 4653
Re: A few errors
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2010, 05:21:20 PM »
Dad,

Quote
Search "tp-showlatest" (3 hits in 3 files)
  \common\Themes\default\languages\TPShout.english.php (1 hits)
   Line 32: $txt['tp-showlatest'] = 'Show 50 latest';
  \SMF1\Themes\default\TPShout.template.php (1 hits)
   Line 240:       
<a href="' , $scripturl , '?action=tpmod;shout=show50">' . $txt['tp-showlatest'] . '[/url]
  \SMF2RC2\Themes\default\TPShout.template.php (1 hits)
   Line 240:       
<a href="' , $scripturl , '?action=tpmod;shout=show50">' . $txt['tp-showlatest'] . '[/url]

According to this, there are only 2 locations where this themestring should be in your install ...
Code: [Select]
in /Themes/default/languages/TPShout.english.php
Line 32: $txt['tp-showlatest'] = 'Show 50 latest';

and ...
in /Themes/default/TPShout.template.php
Line 240: <br /><a href="' , $scripturl , '?action=tpmod;shout=show50">' . $txt['tp-showlatest'] . '</a>

Check both of those locations to be sure that those lines exist.  If they are there, please "disable eval", save, and check to see if the error changed.  To disable eval in SMF 2.0 RC3, go to Admin --> Configuration --> Settings (General) --> Disable evaluation of templates (tick checkbox).

ZarPrime

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #11 on: April 16, 2010, 04:51:22 AM »
Thanks ZarPrime, I'll give that a go :)

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2010, 10:15:02 AM »
OK with your help I'm nearly there - just a couple of things really.  I'm still getting a few errors but nothing on the scale I had before - I'll post them later, they're mostly to do with template issues when guests are browsing.

One thing which is nagging me is how come I get a 'Â' sign before every £ sign - its showing up as '£' on all posts?

Thanks for your continued support :)

Offline ZarPrime

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 4653
Re: A few errors
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2010, 11:19:02 AM »
Well, for the most part, when you see an error that involves a "Guest", a lot of those involve an internet bot, like a Google Spider or something, trying to do something like print a page that doesn't exist or something like that.  Also, errors with guests could be some bot trying to find a way to hack your site.  For the most part, these are harmless.

As far as the 'Â' sign in posts, that sounds like it might be a question to ask about on SMF.

ZarPrime

DAD

  • Guest
Re: A few errors
« Reply #14 on: April 17, 2010, 11:31:01 AM »
OK cheers

Anyway I'll stick a post up on the SMF forum sometime and see if I can resolve the small issue with the 'Â' sign.  After the problems I've had over the last few days this is nothing really lol

Thanks ZarPrime :)


Offline ZarPrime

  • Friends
  • *
  • Posts: 4653
Re: A few errors
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2010, 12:33:44 PM »
Dad,

OK, for now then, we'll go ahead and mark this topic solved. O0

ZarPrime