Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media

Recent

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

December 08, 2021, 06:01:39 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
  • Total Members: 3831
  • Latest: pulgoki
Stats
  • Total Posts: 192617
  • Total Topics: 21020
  • Online Today: 152
  • Online Ever: 1035
  • (November 26, 2020, 04:45:12 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 56
Total: 56

Author Topic: [Discussion] Tabbed Block by Mouse Over  (Read 61943 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Freddy

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
[Discussion] Tabbed Block by Mouse Over
« on: September 05, 2009, 10:31:46 AM »
EDIT : 23 Sept 2010.

This package/block code has now been updated for SMF2.

I've moved all the code into the newer block area - instructions are now there at :

http://www.tinyportal.net/index.php?topic=33219
« Last Edit: September 23, 2010, 10:38:39 AM by Freddy »

dimdom

  • Guest
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 10:43:48 AM »
Thank you once again, freddy888.

Testing it right away!   :)

dimdom

  • Guest
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2009, 04:04:24 PM »
Excellent!

Works perfect but I have a problem.

It seems that mouseovertabs.js cause an error in mootools.js that run before the Mouse over tabbed block in my frst page slideshow...

When I move the slidshow block *down* (after the Mouse over tabbed block) then it is working ok.

But I wouldnt like to change their position...


Did I mention that this confict occurs ONLY IN INTERNET EXPLORER 8, 7 and 6?  :tickedoff: :tickedoff: :tickedoff:
« Last Edit: September 05, 2009, 04:08:38 PM by dimdom »

FERNSIDEâ„¢

  • Guest
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2009, 02:00:24 AM »
Mate, this is exactly what I was looking for.
Thank You all very much :)

Cheers

Offline Freddy

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2009, 05:28:50 AM »
You're welcome Sabre :)

Ok dimdom, I had it in the back of my mind that mootools would cause a problem and that's typical of IE.

Firstly did you test it in the 'ietester' program ?  If so then did you also try it in a 'real' standalone version of IE - I ask this because sometimes ietester is just not right.

If it is affected by order that gives me hope - maybe there is some way we can change the order of the javascript.  Where about's in your code is the mootools.js loaded ?  I mean is it in the slideshow block or is it in the HTML header ?

Also what type of slideshow is it ?  I'm guessing it might be 'smooth gallery' ?

dimdom

  • Guest
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2009, 05:59:31 AM »
Firts of all, I would like to thank you once again for your time in this.

I use this Slideshow code:

http://www.hotajax.org/mootools/photos-other-plugins/619-tpnice-slideshow.html

and the code is is an block (including the mootools.js)


This is the first lines of code in my frontpage block:

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?><!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en-gb" lang="en-gb" dir="ltr" >
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Slideshow</title>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.mysite.com/forum/slishow/files/mootools.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" http://www.mysite.com/forum/slishow/files/tpniceslideshow.css" title="default" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.mysite.com/forum/slishow/files/tpniceslideshow.js"></script>


Whta do you think?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2009, 06:02:05 AM by dimdom »

Offline Freddy

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2009, 06:04:44 AM »
You are welcome :)

OK thanks, I will download that slideshow and try to replicate the problem.  And the problem still persists in a standalone version of IE ?

Offline Freddy

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2009, 06:07:06 AM »
Sorry...what I think is...

As it seems to be the order of the code, then my first idea was to move the call to the mouseover tabs javascript into the top of the index.template.php  So that would mean taking it out of the block, if that makes sense - that way it gets loaded/called first.  This is just a guess because I don't know much about javascript.

dimdom

  • Guest
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2009, 06:07:18 AM »
Yes.

There is no problem in Safari, Firefox, Opera and Crome.


Offline Freddy

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 1615
    • AiDreams
Re: [Block] Mouse over tabbed block.
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2009, 06:25:58 AM »
Actually it might be quicker if you try moving the javascript youself.

So remove this code from the block :

Code: [Select]
<script src="tabbed_block/mouseovertabs.js" type="text/javascript">
/***********************************************
* Mouseover Tabs Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
***********************************************/
</script>

And go to your Theme's index.template.php...

Find (near the top):

Code: [Select]
<title>', $context['page_title'], '</title>';
And paste in that code before it instead.

So it's like this :

Code: [Select]
<script src="tabbed_block/mouseovertabs.js" type="text/javascript">
/***********************************************
* Mouseover Tabs Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
***********************************************/
</script>
<title>', $context['page_title'], '</title>';

Try that for now.