TinyPortal

Development => Support => Topic started by: test333 on March 28, 2020, 07:14:28 PM

Title: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 28, 2020, 07:14:28 PM
Is there need setup for TinyPortal.
The setting for frontpage and the articles in the attached screenshots.
I have no way to let the article show on frontpage. I have logined as administrator and regular user seperatly, the frontpage can not show article.
Link to my forum: http://www yourdomain com/smf/
SMF version: 2.0.17
TP version: 1.65
Default Forum Language: english
Theme name and version: Curve
Browser Name and Version: firefox edge
Mods installed: adkblog
Related Error messages:  No error message(http://[img])[/img]
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 28, 2020, 11:58:08 PM
The third screenshot is where you expect the articles?

That is not the frontpage, but the boardindex.
The boardindex is what shows when clicking menu option Forum.

The Frontpage is the page showing when you click on the first menu option, named Home
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 29, 2020, 12:46:43 AM
If you want an article to show on the boardindex you can do this only by creating an article block and set that block to show on the boardindex.

Hope it helps...
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 03:41:46 AM
The third screenshot is where you expect the articles?

That is not the frontpage, but the boardindex.
The boardindex is what shows when clicking menu option Forum.

The Frontpage is the page showing when you click on the first menu option, named Home
Thank you very much for your reply and suggestion.
The 3rd screenshot was the page showing after "Home" was clicked. That's what confused me.
I have uninstalled all Mod  except TinyPortal.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 29, 2020, 04:59:22 AM
The Frontpage is the page in my screenshot.

With the settings you showed it should however show the articles..
This is strange.

What setting did you set now for the frontpage settings?
You did not accentally set :  Go directly to forum index?
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 05:25:35 AM

What setting did you set now for the frontpage settings?
You did not accentally set :  Go directly to forum index?

Does look that way to me.  ;)
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 05:33:31 AM
Test333 please don't post login details publicly in the forum, or you could get spammers posting or worse. Thanks.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 07:16:16 AM
Test333 please don't post login details publicly in the forum, or you could get spammers posting or worse. Thanks.
I saw it had been removed. Thank you.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 07:19:52 AM
The Frontpage is the page in my screenshot.

With the settings you showed it should however show the articles..
This is strange.

What setting did you set now for the frontpage settings?
You did not accentally set :  Go directly to forum index?
I think I do not because I do not know how to set up it to forum index.
Could you login the website and to check it? The username I show at last post was promoted as admin. I can not send PM as a newbie.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 08:12:38 AM
The Frontpage is the page in my screenshot.

With the settings you showed it should however show the articles..
This is strange.

What setting did you set now for the frontpage settings?
You did not accentally set :  Go directly to forum index?
I think I do not because I do not know how to set up it to forum index.
Could you login the website and to check it? The username I show at last post was promoted as admin. I can not send PM as a newbie.

Please change that password otherwise someone who already has that login could take over your whole forum.  You can  send the login detail to myself or @rjen by Private message.

Something very strange going on because you can't even view or preview any article without it refreshing to the forum index.  So something is amiss here. I've noticed you're trying to run SMF 2.0.17 on PHP: 7.3.15 which I'm pretty sure it's not compatible with. see it you can roll it back to 7.1 in your hosting panel.

Version Information:
Forum version: SMF 2.0.17 (more detailed)
Current SMF version: [object HTMLElement]
GD version: bundled (2.1.0 compatible)
Database Server: MySQL
MySQL version: 5.7.20-log
PHP: 7.3.15
Server version: Apache
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 29, 2020, 08:27:42 AM
What Lurkakot said: SMF 2.0 does not play nice on php 7.3.

The thing with the Frontpage may very well be caused by that. Max php version to use with SMF 2.0.17 is 7.2
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 08:33:45 AM
What Lurkakot said: SMF 2.0 does not play nice on php 7.3.

The thing with the Frontpage may very well be caused by that. Max php version to use with SMF 2.0.17 is 7.2

Strange, glad I'm not the only one thinking along those lines, but I just checked the requirements and it does indeed say "Versions of SMF from 2.0.16 onwards require a version of PHP between 5.3 and 7.3."

That said I still don't believe it's completely compatible.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 08:45:35 AM
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 09:50:14 AM
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 10:05:03 AM
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.

I did see your error log was full of depreciated errors fro ADK blog, but as I didn't see it it installed anywhere, I ignored it.  Obviously ADK Blog isn't compatible with later PHP versions is problem.

EDIT:  By the way did it give any tests failed warnings when you tried to either install TP or ADK Portal?
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 10:57:35 AM
OK, don't know if you took our advice, or did something else but I see the articles now on your front page.
I was testing it. I did not touch PHP setting. What I have done is uninstall TinyPortal and reinstall it.
I had tested twice on another website:
If the MOD "ADK blog" was installed at first, TinyPortal won't work evenif "ADK blog" is uninstalled later.
If TinyPortal is installed at first, "ADK blog" won't work.
Now I know TinyPortal and "ADK blog" are conflict.

I did see your error log was full of depreciated errors fro ADK blog, but as I didn't see it it installed anywhere, I ignored it.  Obviously ADK Blog isn't compatible with later PHP versions is problem.

EDIT:  By the way did it give any tests failed warnings when you tried to either install TP or ADK Portal?
I uninstalled "ADK blog" and tested TK before I asked you to login it. I did find error message when I installed TP, it showed index.php could not be replaced. As for "ADK Blog", I remember that there was no error.
I have tested simple Portal, ezportal, dream port. Simple portal cuold not be installed. EZportal has bad view on ipad. Dream view seems work well with "ADK blog".
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 29, 2020, 11:07:52 AM
If a Mod gives an error upon install that means it may not work.

It seems the Blog and TinyPortal are both editing the same section of index.php : the second mod to be installed will error: you are supposed to fix that error manually if you proceed to install anyway!

FYI: in SMF 2.1 TinyPortal is all hooks ( no file edits) so this will not be a problem in future .
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 29, 2020, 11:34:51 AM
Downgraded php to 7.1.33. When I installed TinyPortal, got two errors:
can not modify index.php, can not replace index.php
It still conflicted with ADK blog.
Everything is exact the same as before.( PHP 7.3).
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 29, 2020, 11:40:53 AM
The problem is not the php version: it’s the conflict between the mods.

Changing the php version will not change the conflict.

If you want to use both mods you will need to make the change manually. If you are not familiar changing codes, make sure to make backups first, because you can easily break the forum completely...
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on March 29, 2020, 11:47:24 AM
Yes as @rjen mentioned above, it's because both those mods edit the same file(s).  So If you have ADK blog installed you will get test failed errors when you try to install TP.  And if you have TP installed and then try to install ADK blog you will get test failed errors as well.

Your log had a load of depreciated errors from ADK blog, indicating it didn't like the version of php you were running it on. ..
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 31, 2020, 01:37:14 PM
Yes as @rjen mentioned above, it's because both those mods edit the same file(s).  So If you have ADK blog installed you will get test failed errors when you try to install TP.  And if you have TP installed and then try to install ADK blog you will get test failed errors as well.

Your log had a load of depreciated errors from ADK blog, indicating it didn't like the version of php you were running it on. ..
Thank you and @rjen very much.

I installed it on my formal website, it does not work again. PHP is 7.2. There is no ADK Blog on my formal website.
 There is no any error log on it. I have to give up TinyPortal even if I am a experienced php coder. I have spent too much time on it.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on March 31, 2020, 02:22:21 PM
That’s too bad. But without any indication about what is wrong (error message) there is no way for us to tell you what is wrong...
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on March 31, 2020, 10:06:20 PM
That’s too bad. But without any indication about what is wrong (error message) there is no way for us to tell you what is wrong...
The problem is the same as before, it did not show front page. I think It should be conflict with SEO or security mods.  Anyway I need to install some other mods. As for frontpage,it is not difficult to comstimize by myself.
Thank you!
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: lurkalot on April 01, 2020, 12:26:19 AM
That’s too bad. But without any indication about what is wrong (error message) there is no way for us to tell you what is wrong...
The problem is the same as before, it did not show front page. I think It should be conflict with SEO or security mods.  Anyway I need to install some other mods. As for frontpage,it is not difficult to comstimize by myself.
Thank you!

We've not been getting any reports from other people regarding these issues, or not that I'm aware of.  Though we can confirm TP and ADK blog don't play nicely together.

What other mods do you have installed on that site please?
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on April 14, 2020, 11:44:08 AM
Installed and uninstalled some Mods such as Bad Behavior mod, Block Proxy VPN On Registration, Optimus. I did not tested them one by one.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: @rjen on April 14, 2020, 11:52:43 AM
And?
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: test333 on April 14, 2020, 12:40:09 PM
Uninstalled all mods, uninstall and then install TP.  There is only TP installed, it will work.
Title: Re: Artilce can not be shown on frontpage
Post by: tino on April 14, 2020, 12:52:01 PM
It should also work with all those mods you listed other than adk