TinyPortal

Development => Support => Servers & hosts => Topic started by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 07:58:30 PM

Title: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 07:58:30 PM
cannot figure out how to upload database at go-daddy.  I created a database by same name, assuming I could simply upload copy of database.

I am running smf1.1.8/TPv1.05beta1

I have always been on a dedicated server, and used DirectAdmin.  I now have a go-daay hosting account w/ cpanel, and I am lost.

please help.   I would like to get things figured out.

Another question.  Is there a way to do a fresh install, and retain the posts, members, etc, from backed up files;  Adding them to fresh install?

Which files?  I know attachments file is necessary
Attachments, and what else?

thanks for the help ahead of time.  I usually can handle the situation after getting solid info from support team.

thanks H

what else?

p.s. I did post this at SMF, but have team member friends here, and just want an opinion or 2.  thanks
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Renegd98 on April 22, 2009, 08:44:03 PM
If you have a cpanel you should be able to use phpmyadmin and perform an import into your sql file.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 08:52:46 PM
OK.  so instead of "upload backup database...

I import.  I see that, but have no experience doing that.  I will see if I can proceed.  Thanks for the reply, and please watch for follow-ups.  thanks H

p.s. If you have more info on importing.  Feel free to explain.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 09:51:54 PM
OK.  Imported the backup files.  I see them. 

Site is still down.

Ran repair_settings.php and got this message

Quote
Some settings are not being shown because the MySQL connection information is incorrect.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 22, 2009, 10:00:40 PM
Then your settings are not correct. Either the username, password, etc. is not right. Make use you use this format:

accountname_username
accountname_password
accountname_database, etc...
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 10:08:59 PM
hey, skhilled.  I agree, but I keep looking at it, and it appears right, +  I took the advice to change values to preferred option, and that was the last message.

I am going to look at it again until I see the problem.  later

Looking forward to installing a new arcade at myvirtualworld, when I resolve all these transfer issues.

Do you think If I did a fresh install I would be better off.  I actually downloaded all forum files to desktop, and then back to new server.  was that a mistake?  eager to hear what you all think
H
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 22, 2009, 10:16:10 PM
New files won't matter for this situation. It is a database issue. The error you are getting is because one or more of the settings are not correct. You'll also want to check to make sure the url's are correct and nothing is pointing to the old server.

EDIT: Go into cPanel and make sure that there is a mysql user the same as in Settings.php with the same username. If not, create one then attach it to your database.

btw, good to see you again. ;)
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 10:23:31 PM
OK.  I looked in settings.php, and all the names were the same, but I noticed above info, It said forum in maintenance mode '2' & must be manually restored to '0'. 

How do you do that?
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 22, 2009, 10:32:21 PM
This part, on line 2, change it as shown:
Code: [Select]
########## Maintenance ##########
# Note: If $maintenance is set to 2, the forum will be unusable!  Change it to 0 to fix it.
$maintenance = 0; # Set to 1 to enable Maintenance Mode, 2 to make the forum untouchable. (you'll have to make it 0 again manually!)
$mtitle = 'Maintenance Mode'; # Title for the Maintenance Mode message.
$mmessage = 'Okay faithful users...we\'re attempting to restore an older backup of the database...news will be posted once we\'re back!'; # Description of why the forum is in maintenance mode.

Then resave it and upload it again.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 22, 2009, 10:54:04 PM
Oh, and run it again. LOL
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 10:58:23 PM
Oh, and run it again. LOL
sorry.  that was not a problem.  I misread it.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 22, 2009, 11:19:25 PM
No worries. :)
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 11:23:50 PM
This is frustrating.  I hate this hosting account.  It apperas paths, and passwords, names are correct, but I still cannot get the site to load...


Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 22, 2009, 11:44:52 PM
Sent you a PM, with info Skhilled

Oh yeah.  that is a hosting account.  you have to open "my hosting"

you will see a list of domains.  I am having problems with hygronomics.com  (forum folder is forum1),

and boomersliveband.com  (forum folder is bandsite)
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: GhostRider2110 on April 23, 2009, 07:10:37 AM
Is this a shared account now on Godaddy?  Are you sure the Db server name in the configuration is correct?  I know that on the one shared account I did use on godaddy, the mysql server is not on the same server as the hosting account.  Where on my VPS and other accounts the MySQL server is on the same as my httpd server.  Just a thought, and you may have already checked this but I didn't see it anywhere in the posts... --Mitch
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Renegd98 on April 23, 2009, 07:13:34 AM
Sometimes on the shared accounts the DB server is not accessed by localhost but by some other name.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: GhostRider2110 on April 23, 2009, 07:21:27 AM
I know that is the way Godaddy does it.  I tried setting up SMF forums on my one hosting account I hage there, and I didn't like the performance.  Kept getting DB timeouts...  But that was a few years ago so the performance may be better. --Mitch
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 23, 2009, 08:08:19 AM
This is solved...for now. One site is working well and the other has a hosting issue. I am waiting to see if the domain issue for hygronomics.com gets resolved. The problem is the domain name is not resolved yet.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 23, 2009, 11:46:35 AM
Funny that it hasn't resolved.  I kept wondering about that.  it has been 3-4 days since switching dns.

thanks all who participated in my query
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on April 23, 2009, 02:28:38 PM
It can take up to 72 hours or so. I'd check with the hosting you use. It might be something on their end.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 23, 2009, 04:05:14 PM
OK.  Problems with boomersliveband.com solved & I finally got hygronomics.com to resolve. at database.

But! Still getting error message in repair settings.php
Quote
Some settings are not being shown because the MySQL connection information is incorrect.

I have checked all paths info several times.

And: when attempting hygronomics.com/forum1, I get this message

Quote
Warning: require_once(/home/hygron/domains/hygronomics.com/public_html/forum1/Sources/QueryString.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/h/y/g/hygron/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/index.php on line 54

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/hygron/domains/hygronomics.com/public_html/forum1/Sources/QueryString.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/h/y/g/hygron/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/index.php on line 54

thanks for hanging in there for me Team & Supporters.
This has always been a great Support site;  especially if you are willing to get your hands dirty.

H
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 23, 2009, 07:29:02 PM
Could this be the issue?

Code: [Select]
string ob_sessrewrite(string buffer)
- rewrites the URLs outputted to have the session ID, if the user
  is not accepting cookies and is using a standard web browser.
- handles rewriting URLs for the queryless URLs option.
- can be turned off entirely by setting $scripturl to an empty
  string, ''. (it wouldn't work well like that anyway.)
- because of bugs in certain builds of PHP, does not function in
  versions lower than 4.3.0 - please upgrade if this hurts you.
*/

Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 24, 2009, 09:11:03 AM
bump

I am bumping my thread, because this problem is not resolved, it is the same problem that was wrong with boomerslive, and "skhilled" you didn't say what you did to resolve that issue.

thanks for the response
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: G6Cad on April 24, 2009, 09:26:23 AM
Every time you get an error that tells you it cant open a file, you have 3 reasons,

1. Permissions are wrong, if they are wrong, the files will not be read and the server markes them it cant open them

2. Files are missing, the server cant find the files because they are not there where it searches for them.

3. The paths are wrong, the server looks for a file according to what the DB tells it to, but the server cant find the file/folder on that location

Download the repair settings.php fron the SMF forum, upload it to the folder you have your forum installed to. point the browser to the file and make sure your forum have the correct paths there, AND that your forum are connection to the CORRECT database.


Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 24, 2009, 10:12:03 AM
I will check permission once again, but I did already. Always the 1st thing to do.

My paths to database are correct or I couldn't get to repair settingphp,

I ran repair settingphp, g6, and that is why I posted. 
and  when I get there.  I see the error messages that are posted 3 posts ^up

I checked for querystringphp, and Sources, but I can't see a problem there.

Thanks for checking in.  I wouldn't be here if:
A. permissions hadn't been checked
B. I checked and resolved paths
C. I ran repair settingphp

Back later.  I will do all these for the 10th time.

thanks G6.  I missed you the past 3-4 days.

Peace, God Bless


the only thing I can imagine is that it is taking 3-4 days to resolve database change
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 24, 2009, 10:27:21 AM
Ok.  I did find an issue with permissions.  ;) evidently when I uploaded to godaddy.  that server chmod to 705.  I am adjusting.  :uglystupid2: thanks for helping  :)

Will post success when appropriate.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 24, 2009, 10:55:27 AM
NOpe.  It's not permissions.  repair settingsphp.  still doesn't fix it!

I followed the same procedures, and db.paths that skhilled and I used to get one of my other sites up, but I still cannot get past this q
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: G6Cad on April 24, 2009, 11:30:52 AM
ALL folders to 755
ALL files to 644
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 24, 2009, 11:54:52 AM
I still get this

 Some settings are not being shown because the MySQL connection information is incorrect.
Critical Settings

and using url http://hygronomics.com/forum1 , I get:

Warning: require_once(/home/hygron/domains/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/Sources/QueryString.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/h/y/g/hygron/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/index.php on line 54

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/hygron/domains/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/Sources/QueryString.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/h/y/g/hygron/html/hygronomics.com/forum1/index.php on line 54

ON another note...

I looked in php admin.  I noticed all the loaded backup files have a prefix of backup_smf_ , instead of smf_     Could this be the issue?

G6 I just saw your latest response.  Are you saying that if I set the chmod 777, I need to go back, and do 755 for folders, and 644 for files.

Sorry, I have to go.  I just got some extremely bad news, and this is becoming irrelevant.

Later. Peace, and God Bless
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Renegd98 on April 24, 2009, 04:10:13 PM
you can try changing the prefix in your setting.php file in the root of your smf forum to backup_smf_ and see if that fixes your issue.

change
Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'smf_';

to

Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'backup_smf_';
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: IchBin™ on April 24, 2009, 09:03:01 PM
I'm assuming you have both backup_smf and smf_ prefixed tables? The backup_smf tables are when you run an installer and you choose to backup the tables during the upgrade/install.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 25, 2009, 12:21:39 AM
I'm assuming you have both backup_smf and smf_ prefixed tables? The backup_smf tables are when you run an installer and you choose to backup the tables during the upgrade/install.
NO.  I imported a backup database file to start the forum at the new server/hosting account.  I didn't run an installer.  I made database.  imported smf_ files from desktop, backup zip>upload to database.

ran repair settingsphp

Maybe we will figure this out.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 25, 2009, 12:25:36 AM
you can try changing the prefix in your setting.php file in the root of your smf forum to backup_smf_ and see if that fixes your issue.

change
Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'smf_';

to

Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'backup_smf_';
OK.  I tried to make the database prefix backup_smf_ in repair_settings.  didn"t know what else to do>

I will try the edit you suggested.  Makes sense to me.  Later
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 25, 2009, 12:28:44 AM
you can try changing the prefix in your setting.php file in the root of your smf forum to backup_smf_ and see if that fixes your issue.

change
Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'smf_';

to

Code: [Select]
$db_prefix = 'backup_smf_';
OK.  I tried to make the database prefix backup_smf_ in repair_settings.  didn"t know what else to do>

I will try the edit you suggested.  Makes sense to me.  Later
roflmao.  I already did that.  Actually;  After learning that I could edit the file;  I did!
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: hygron on April 27, 2009, 01:56:15 PM
Wish someone with experience would help me get my 3 year old flagship site back up.

I am a farmer trying to run some domains, and I cannt figure out why, I cannot get this site back up.

I am ready to scrap 3 years of work, and start over.  What a drag, but I guess one has to do, what one has to do.

H
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: IchBin™ on April 28, 2009, 12:17:02 PM
Hygron, sorry but I just haven't had the time lately to do favors. I might have some time by late Thursday or Friday if you're interested.
Title: Re: Moved site from dedicated DirectAdmin to go-daddy hosting, can't figure out...
Post by: Skhilled on May 09, 2009, 03:41:18 AM
Sorry, I haven't responded yet, Hydron. My mother passed away and I've been a bit busy. PM sent.