Along with many other mods, someone uninstalled TP on a site I had done for them, but its still actually there and running. Is there anyway that I can "reset" things to default and NOT lose the forum structure and posts?
The forum and the structure are all stored in the database, so if you want to reverse the install of TP, simply replace the files that TP have changed.
A warning with this method is that if you have ANY other mods installed that also uses the same files, they will be removed along with TP-
Another way you can do this is by following our modinstruction we have in the doc for the manuall install but instead of adding the strings, you remove them.
For the dtabase you simply remove the tables that have the prefix TP in them and the same with the files on the server.
So then you mean to just overwrite with the same files that TP writes?
If you have any other mods installed, the safest way is to follow the manual install file, removing all of the TinyPortal additions to the files.
If you don't have any other mods installed, you can just upload all of the SMF Source and Theme files, overwriting the files that are there.
And delete the tp database tables.
(I know I'm saying exactly the same thing that G6 said. :) )
Quote from: JPDeni on March 20, 2008, 07:11:21 PM
(I know I'm saying exactly the same thing that G6 said. :) )
Yes you are. ;)
Well, he didn't seem to understand when she said it, so I thought maybe if I said it in a little different words, he might understand. Sometimes I do that, too, and the repetition helps.
I know, don't mind me... just teasing you a little. :)
That's okay. :D I can handle some teasing.
We all know we can say the same things over and over again and things will not be clear to everyone anyway, so keep on teasing ;D