is there a way that i can set it up that only certain members post in my shoutbox. there are were some things that was said on our shoutbox that needs to be addressed. i would only like certain members to post aka registered users.
Not at this time, though I'm aware of other features that were discussed. I believe additional permissions were one of them. Maybe in the next version of TP.
Also.. Forum rules should apply to the shoutbox.. I would have issued a warning if something was bad enough to restrict member groups from using it.. And indeed a banning if necessary.
Zetan
No, fourm permissions do not affect the shoutbox in tp. I am currently writing a warning in our shoutbox. If necessary the person will be banned from the site for an x amount of time and if necessary the shoutbox will be removed. What do you think?
Thats what I said.. Aditional Permissions for the shoutbox have been discussed, if I remember correctly.
I would personally, Quote the message in a PM and remove it from the shoutbox.
I try to make a first warning private and not carry it out in public.
it was made by a guest. i have the permissions ip address. Also he spammed three or four messages in teh shoutbox within 30 minutes or so. i am not sure how many messages he/she posted within so many minutes.
Oh.. I didnt realise it was a guest.. my bad. You can turn off the option to allow guests to use the shoutbox.
Admin > TP Settings > Allow guest shouts?
Quote
Guest posting in the shoutbox has been fixed. please do not spoof names. if you do you will be delt with through our web team
that is what i wrote. i mean what do you think?
Well, it's difficult to tell guests off.. Sounds ok to me :)
OK. So I'm really sleep-deprived so maybe my brain is just being obstinate here... do permissions -- aside from guests -- control who can see or post in the shoutbox?
I have one membergroup (at least one that I know of -- OY! -- great... something ELSE to check out! LOL) on my site (http://myfibrofriends.org) that can't see the shoutbox at all. Forget posting; they can't even see the shoutbox. It's not related to theme either although that's what I suspected at first and was the problem for one member! LOL
Anyway, this specific membergroup in question has complete permissions when you open it up: Manage Permissions --> Permissions by Membergroup --> (Membergroup) Modify. And strange too because once you logout, you can see the Shoutbox again. Tell me this makes sense somehow & I'm just missing it!
:-\
So... not sure what this is about and not finding the place to fix it. ugh... is the answer here & I'm just not finding it? (I HAVE searched.. and searched...) ...
TIA! Greatly appreciate the assist! :)
Lori
"because once you logout, you can see the Shoutbox again"
In your Manage Blocks screen you need to edit the block in question and select the group (s) that you want to be able to see the block.
EDIT: Yes the answer is here... and it almost always is here. ;)
Quote from: Ken. on November 28, 2007, 11:35:23 AM"because once you logout, you can see the Shoutbox again"
Was
that the clue as to the problem here?
And sure enough. I was sure I'd checked & double-checked that but there ya go. It wasn't right at all. I have no idea what happened because I would've swore otherwise but... grrr. I just
hate stuff like that. Operator error; no other explanation. Well, it's great cuz it IS such an easy answer. But... dang. I feel like a
complete idiot!
I'm blaming it on prolonged sleep-deprivation! ::)
TY
so much, Ken! At least it WAS a simple answer! (and of course the answer WAS here! :2funny: OY!) I
really should've been able to find this one.
OK. I'm giving up on this way-too-long day & going to bed now!
Take good care! Again, TY! :D
Lori