Login  |  Register
HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon HTML5 Icon
TP on Social Media

Recent

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

April 10, 2021, 08:02:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Members
  • Total Members: 3811
  • Latest: invio27
Stats
  • Total Posts: 192081
  • Total Topics: 20957
  • Online Today: 85
  • Online Ever: 1035
  • (November 26, 2020, 04:45:12 AM)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 67
Total: 67

Author Topic: TP menu button removal?  (Read 1623 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline madfitz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
TP menu button removal?
« on: January 29, 2021, 07:46:32 AM »
SMF version: SMF 2.0.17
TP version: 2.01
Default Forum Language: English
Theme name and version: Default curve
Browser Name and Version: FF 85
Mods installed: TP

Is it possible to remove the TP button from the menu and put all admin tasks back in the admin center?

I won't be using downloads or articles so users won't need the menu. I disabled it but I'd rather it not be there for admins either.

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 2319
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2021, 08:36:33 AM »
SMF version: SMF 2.0.17
TP version: 2.01
Default Forum Language: English
Theme name and version: Default curve
Browser Name and Version: FF 85
Mods installed: TP

Is it possible to remove the TP button from the menu and put all admin tasks back in the admin center?

I won't be using downloads or articles so users won't need the menu. I disabled it but I'd rather it not be there for admins either.

There isn’t an option to do this with TinyPortal for SMF.

Offline madfitz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2021, 12:47:00 PM »
Well that kind of sucks.

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 2319
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2021, 01:07:50 PM »
Well that kind of sucks.

I believe it has always been that way for TinyPortal when used with SMF.

You can modify the source code yourself to move it across, but it requires multiple edits. In multiple places.

Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2813
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2021, 01:22:35 PM »
I had a look at it, but I would only consider it if it can be done with hooks and works seamlessly for 2.0 and 2.1, but I would not know where to start...
Running TP2.0.1 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 (latest Github)
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 2319
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2021, 01:33:14 PM »
I had a look at it, but I would only consider it if it can be done with hooks and works seamlessly for 2.0 and 2.1, but I would not know where to start...

The following show the changes I made when I moved it for Elkarte, I think I missed a few but that’s most of them.

https://github.com/tinoest/ElkTinyPortal/commit/d7d461a9b8e8311da07f83e25d3bcb8d4319cdc8

https://github.com/tinoest/ElkTinyPortal/commit/e88740870339f3d93389cdb3de1043800e2c570e

https://github.com/tinoest/ElkTinyPortal/commit/4ade5f4c6ceb1d2a9770647a5735604f4aa76449

https://github.com/tinoest/ElkTinyPortal/commit/033eedbc65e4f16b6489d1986ee54ed372cfda7a


Offline @rjen

  • Support Team
  • *
  • Posts: 2813
    • FJR-club Nederland
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2021, 01:54:33 PM »
I suspected you already did that for Elkarte.

Had a look at your changes, but I am sorry: that's WAY above my skill level.
I will not even try to do that, because I will break more than I can fix, and it will take me weeks... just do not have the time...
Running TP2.0.1 on SMF2.0 at: www.fjr-club.nl

Testing TP on SMF2.0
Testing TP on SMF2.1 (latest Github)
Want to check what php version I am testing on? See: PHP Info

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7210
    • Camera Craniums
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2021, 02:25:25 PM »
I'll be honest I prefer the portal admin separate from the SMF admin.  Once the forum is set up I'd only want to access the portal anyway. When I tried the Elkarte version of TP although very neat I miss the TP admin button not being there.   

Offline tino

  • Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 2319
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2021, 02:34:21 PM »
I'll be honest I prefer the portal admin separate from the SMF admin.  Once the forum is set up I'd only want to access the portal anyway. When I tried the Elkarte version of TP although very neat I miss the TP admin button not being there.

That’s the thing, everyone has their preference. When I asked on here previously it was preferred where it is. So I left it alone.

I prefer it in the admin area as once I’ve set the blocks up, then I’m pretty much done with it. It’s not an easy thing to have as selectable either so it’s one or the other. You can remove the icon from the menu and just have the link saved elsewhere mind. That’s an edit to integrate.php

Offline lurkalot

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 7210
    • Camera Craniums
Re: TP menu button removal?
« Reply #9 on: January 29, 2021, 03:31:06 PM »
That's true tino, it is only a personal preference thing, I'm so used to it being there is part of the issue for me. 

Touching on the TP Admin usage, I guess it it would depend what you use the portal for as to how often you'd need to edit certain blocks. Obviously if your content doesn't change much that's fine.  That said I suppose there's nothing stopping anyone adding their own admin link in a block for quick access. 

Swings and roundabouts.  :)