TinyPortal

Development => Block Codes => Topic started by: MetalHellsangel on February 23, 2006, 02:57:29 AM

Title: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 23, 2006, 02:57:29 AM
A Configurable "Did You Know" Block.

Download & Support  Here (http://www.blockcodes.com)
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: Mitch on February 23, 2006, 03:10:09 AM
Hang on what the heck is that?
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 23, 2006, 03:13:29 AM
it's a block that shows random did you know facts, each fact can be edited (the stuff in red) to your liking.  To show other info to add more facts just  add
"|SOME MORE INFO",

on the line above
"|Do you know the names of the three wise monkeys? They are: Mizaru (See no evil), Mikazaru (Hear no evil), and Mazaru (Speak no evil).",
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: onemob on February 27, 2006, 07:29:40 AM
i get a parse error when i use that code.
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 27, 2006, 07:34:48 AM
take a look at this txt document, you can copy and paste this instead of the above code. DidYouKnow.txt (https://home.comcast.net/~MetalHellsAngel/didyouknow.txt)
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: onemob on February 27, 2006, 07:44:47 AM
Should that be in a PHPbox?

I tried both PHP and a javascript/HTML one and neither display anything.

Thanks for the help
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 27, 2006, 07:48:01 AM
ohh np I don't mind helping, this is very strange though. Are you leaving the php tags in place?

this is php code so it will only work in a phpblock, and make sure you have the php <?php ?> above and below the code

copy everything in the above script from top to bottom.
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: onemob on February 27, 2006, 07:54:27 AM
I just tried it with the <?php at the top and ?> at the bottom. Still not getting anything to display. 

I'm still learning my way around php, normally i dont have much trouble with it. Hmm any way this is aneat idea. Hopefully i can get it working
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 27, 2006, 07:57:11 AM
You have a pm


RESOLVED,
there was a problem with the code above it was edited and has been resolved.
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: Xarcell on February 28, 2006, 04:11:39 AM
Nice...
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on February 28, 2006, 04:28:48 AM
thanks :D
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: Mitch on March 15, 2006, 01:23:22 AM
Ok I got it working its pretty nifty.
I am just waiting to put it out I need a bigger "library".
Title: Re: Did You Know Block > Ported from PhpNuke
Post by: MetalHellsangel on March 19, 2006, 12:14:06 AM
Quote from: MetalHellsangel on February 23, 2006, 02:57:29 AM
Support For This Snippet Can Now Be Found Here (http://noizepollutionrox.com:70/index.php?topic=4.msg4;topicseen)